Hougang Parkview: My Biggest Loot from Taobao (淘宝)!

So after lots and lots of reading, procrastinating and discussions, we finally made the decision to purchase all our lights from Taobao! From my previous posts, you would know that I am not a stranger to this amazing online china website. However, I have never purchased such big ticket items from them before.

We were torn between two different forwarders: Oops.sg and Amcon Express. We are looking at their service for sea shipping which is calculated by volume. Oops.sg is pretty popular with Hardwarezone member, do check out the thread here. Amcon will be more expensive than Oops.sg as they have an additional charge of $35. You would also be able to opt in for a 3% insurance to protect your items against damages during shipping for Oops. However, after speaking to May Ho (representative of Amcon) on the phone, I was reassured by her honesty and sincerity, plus many Renotalk members have shipped items through her too.
Updated post here and here on Amcon Express services, please read before deciding on them.

Name: May Ho
Contact number: 93862818
Shipping charges: 550RMB/cubic metre + $35 (documentation fee) + 7% GST
Shipping duration: 8 days
Note: get seller to write your name or nickname (麦头) on the outside of the packaging of your items

I have nothing but praises for May’s and Amcon’s services. Take note that you have to tell the seller to write your name or nickname on the outside of the packaging of your items, this is so that the staff in the China warehouse can identify your items and sort them out. After you have ordered your items, you will have to fill in a form with shipping information (运单号码,物流公司) plus declare the prices of the items.
IMPORTANT! After your items have been shipped out by the seller, check the number of boxes you will be receiving. Especially with bulky items, some sellers might send them in separate packaging and different tracking numbers. It doesn’t necessary mean that the seller will pack everything into one box. This will also need to be indicated in the form so that the warehouse will ship all your items to Singapore.
When the tracking system indicates that my first item has been received by the warehouse I will get May to double check. After which, she will then update me daily with the list of items the warehouse receives. The exchanges with her was usually done through Whatsapp and she is always prompt in replying.

And you can really pack A LOT of things in one cubic metre (1 m by 1 m by 1 m).

How did I choose my items? I bought my lights and the vacuum from Tmall. The rest I just went with the store with the highest sale (销量).

Tv console workmanship isn’t superb but flaws are not noticeable, still a good buy compared to the price in Singapore
Dustbin quality is not bad, simple mechanism that works well
Flipclock looks super nice, timing is very accurate, however quality is not superb
Dustmite vacuum and Robot vacuum have yet to use it, take note that you need to change the plug or use a converter
Soap dispenser and toilet roll holder great quality
Handspray good quality, quite heavy
Living room, kitchen and service yard, master bedroom and household shelter (free gift – not LED), study and spare room, toilet, corridor lights all the lights arrived intact. Phew. They are all well-packed to avoid breakages. The lights are bright! The only problem I had was with the study and spare room lights. The seller sent me the wrong color but they are sending extra replacements for me and May is nice enough to help me ship it over at no cost.

Check out this post for reviews of the items.

39 thoughts on “Hougang Parkview: My Biggest Loot from Taobao (淘宝)!

  1. Hello there,
    While doing some research for info on Taobao i came across your post! Great post!
    Can i check with you for the LED lights for Kitchen which one you bought? Is it bright enough? (I assume you use only 1 light?) Haha..
    What are the stuff you bought from Taobao? Care to share those links? As i am planning to buy some stuff from there for my new BTO as well.. Maybe you can drop me a email @ cheekeong_7@hotmail.com?
    Thank you!

      • I see.. So these are all the stuff you bought? Like that already hit 1CBM?

        I was asking about the kitchen light,, I went into the URL but just to ask how many watt and dimension for the LED light you bought for your kitchen? Bright enough?

        Thank you.. =D

      • The wattage is not given for the kitchen light. We just bought the smallest rectangular light for the kitchen. So far it is bright enough 🙂

        The minimum is 1 cubic metre so we might be lesser but the exact measurement is not stated by Amcon so we only know we didn’t exceed. The 1 cubic metre includes our tv console also.

  2. Hi Huiley,
    Thanks for sharing so much info. Want to ask. Do we buy stuff from taobao then put amcon express china address to the seller or do we actually give amcon express the list of stuff we want to buy and they will do the rest? thanks

    • Hi Alvin,

      You can do it both ways. Usually I buy the stuff myself and ship it to the China address given by Amcon. You can also get them to buy for you but they will charge for it. HTHs 🙂

  3. Hi dear, just to check, how do we ship the items to amcon address in china? Usually I buy via peeka, and they will help me purchase. Do we have to have a taobao account and what credit card do we use to purchase direct?

    • Hi Chloe,

      For Amcon you can get them to help you buy, but have to pay them a fee per item I think.
      Yes, you will need a taobao account and you input Amcon china warehouse address in it.
      Taobao now accepts Visa and MasterCard but a 3% fee is chargeable for every transaction, another way is to get someone with a China bank account to help top up your Alipay account. AXS also can top up, but the exchange rate is quite sucky.
      HTHs!

  4. Hi huiley could you share with me the length n voltage of lights u bought for ur masterbedroom n the 2common rooms? Thanks much:)

  5. Hi, Saw the things u bought really nice.
    Im planing to buy hanging lights from taobao, just wondering do we need to change any wires to suits singapore electric? Or did u change any? Thanks

    • Hello mel, I didn’t buy any hanging lights but my sister did; didn’t here her mentioning anything about changing wires though. I didn’t have to change any for the ceiling lights. HTHs 🙂

  6. Hi Huiley,
    Saw your post and it’s informative! Can I know if there is extra shipping charge for your vacuum cleaner from the freight forwarder? Cos I know that some freight forwarders does charge extra for special shipping of electronic-charged items.

  7. Hi! Thanks for your post, it is really useful! I am planning to buy lights & switches from Taobao, are there anything to take note, like voltage? Or all lights sol le on taobao are suitable to use in Singapore? Thanks!

  8. Hi, may I know the lights that you brought are multi color light? Meaning u can change either to warm or white light. Thanks!

  9. Hello, may i know how is ur tv console so far? u mentioned that “workmanship isn’t superb but flaws are not noticeable” . May I know what is the flaw? Thank you and hear from you soon.

    • Hi, there were just some scratches here and there and the console is still standing and supporting the TV, drawers all still working well.

      Regards, Ashley

  10. Hi Huiley,

    Hubby and I, can’t read/speak chinese so we shopped at Taobao using Google Translate.

    We made our first purchase just to try out on the shipping duration and shipping price using 65DAIGUO.
    We got a shock when our Dining Light which cost SGD 30, is at 10kg ( I didnt know how it gets so heavy) and shipping itself cost SGD 40!!

    At present, we still have tons of items in our cart that we have yet to purchase.
    Eg: Chandelier Lights cum Fan, Track Lights, 2 sets of Shower head with mixers and a few downlights.

    Appreciate if you could give us some advise.

    1. Is 65daigou recommened for bulk shipping?
    2. Can Amcon provide a similar buy4me service by 65daigou?
    3. How do we know if the items are shipped all at one time?
    4. How do they charge the shipping charges?
    5. Is May based in Singapore OR China?
    6. Once item reached Singapore, which forwarder does the delivery? Singapore post or other delivery company?

    Thanks a million!
    Zahratul Jannah

    • Hi Jannah,

      65daigou is more like an agent (although it really depends on which option you are choosing). The amount of shipping charges will depends on which type of shipping you chose. Air shipments usually cost more since they go by volumetric OR actual weight, depending on whichever is heavier. Perhaps that was why your item was so expensive in the end, not in terms of actual weight but might be due to its volume.
      We got a shock when our Dining Light which cost SGD 30, is at 10kg ( I didnt know how it gets so heavy) and shipping itself cost SGD 40!!

      To answer your questions:
      1. bulky shipment should always be shipped through sea shipping that is usually calculated by volumetric weight, but if you use buy-for-me it will always be more expensive than just a ship-for-me
      2. Amcon can help you purchase but there is a fee per item
      3. They ship everything once all items have arrived since it is the cheapest method for the shipping company
      4. Charges as stated on the post: 550RMB/cubic metre + $35 (documentation fee) + 7% GST
      5. May is in Singapore, she liaises with the China warehouse for us
      6. Amcon has their own delivery truck

      My suggestion is to never jump into taobao shopping without some prior experience. I started out small with smaller items through buy-for-me services from Peeka and 65daigou then move on to official forwarders like 4PX before doing direct sea shipments for my bulky items through Amcon. Crappy things still happen even with experience, problems with sellers, wrong items sent, after-sale services and you must know Chinese in order to make this problems go away. Many of the sea shipment forwarders are residents in China so they only know very basic English.

      Do visit this page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/196273897195633/ and request to join. Tons to advice there for you to read through.

      Hope this helps!

      Regards,
      Huiley

  11. hi, I came across your post. May I know if those Led light still working? Cause some said it spoil afTer a few month. and can you share the site that you bought?

    Thanks

  12. Hello, may i know what u use to pay for ur recent taobao? Alipay account? What is the exchange rate like? Thanks!

  13. Hi Huiley, I actually wanted to comment under your post “Hougang Parkview: Filling in the Empty Spaces” but the comment function was disabled. Coincidentally, I would be getting the Joven heater, Rinnai hob, Bosch oven and Mitsubishi fridge for my new place too. Before I commit to my purchase, I would appreciate if you would share your reviews. Really hope you would help me out here. Many thanks.

    • Hi hi,

      Currently all of them are still working well.
      Heater heats up water pretty fast. Fridge is big enough for most of our things. Oven helped us with our cooking. Rinnai hob heats up things pretty quickly.
      Not sure what kind of review you are looking at? But this is all I can say about them. We don’t have any previous ones to compare with and plus they are mostly entry level items and not the high functioning expensive kind, so we just want them to do what they are supposed to and so far they have been.

      Hope this helps 🙂

  14. hello! Can I ask if all your items shown in the pictures are fitted into 1 cubic meter? If not, how many cubic meters did you pay for? Many thanks!:)

  15. Hi,

    For China electronics bought from taobao, how do you use it in Singapore? Plug in the electronic item 2 pin plug into a multi plug adapter then plug in the multi plug adapter 3 pin into Singapore wall socket? Need anything to convert voltage or something?

    Thanks

    • Hi Yan,

      I think it may have been added recently. I have not used them before so I can’t advise completely on their additional charges. Sorry!

Leave a comment