Hougang Parkview: Review of Taobao (淘宝) Loots!

A quick update on how some of the buys from taobao have been doing 🙂 If you would like me to review the items, please leave a comment and I shall get to it.

First up, the correct legs of the study chairs have finally arrived. It was a SUPER long wait. The packaging was beyond lousy. Luckily nothing was damaged in the process. The workmanship was not the best, however after we fixed everything together, the chair looks pretty decent! The chairs are quite comfortable and sturdy. The material of the chair is just what I wanted; there are small holes in it that makes it more cooling to sit on, the material is water-repellent so it doesn’t absorb sweat and it is easy to clean!

I am loving the robot vacuum that I bought in my first loot. It is really the greatest helper at home! The amount of dust it vacuums is beyond belief. We purposely bought furniture that can be shifted around or had legs that were long enough for the robot to get under. So whenever I can, I clear the floor of anything that can be cleared and just let it roam. It uses about 70-80% of its battery life if I want it to clean the entire house. The only problem I have with it is sometimes it doesn’t charge properly; it will show that it is 100% when in fact it has only been charged 20%. But the problem is easily solved by removing the robot from the dock and putting it back to charge again. The dustmite vacuum is quite pointless and under utilized, plus the supposed ‘vibrating’ function it had spoiled after the first use.

The lights are all working well, except for the service yard light and kitchen light. Please do not buy LED lights from this shop: 度尔家居专营店, both the capacitor for both light fused, one within a week of installation and one within 6 months of installation. My sister’s light from them also had the same problem. Although the sellers usually are willing to send a replacement, but this just shows the quality of their products are just not good.

Magic bullet is working very very well! I use it mainly for chopped garlic, grinding sugar and the ocassional smoothie. The many many cups that they provided really helps as I can store the processed items in them without being afraid that I would run out.

Corkboard was quite easy to put up on the wall. It is now our travelogue!

20140718_220548

4 thoughts on “Hougang Parkview: Review of Taobao (淘宝) Loots!

  1. hello hello, i see that you have been shopping alot from Taobao. I am actually planning to purchase a work desk from Taobao and would like to check if you have any advise? I usually buy clothes and accessories and ship via their direct forwarding agent 4px. But for furnitures, what is the cheapest, best and fastest way to ship it Singapore in your experience?

    This desk is what i plan to buy:
    http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z0d.6639537.1997196601.77.xgp3tk&id=40184553535

    Hope to hear from you!
    Thanks!
    Miya

    • Hello, for large items it’s cheaper to go by sea shipping. So far I have only used amcon and you can refer to their charges and shipping time on my previous post.
      Regards, Ashley

Leave a comment