Hougang Parkview: Another Big Loot from Taobao (淘宝)!

I recently made another purchase using Amcon Express. I didn’t like this experience as much as the previous time. I felt that this time round, communication with May wasn’t the best and she also insisted that I told her the wrong information. It was not totally her fault, perhaps due to the fact that there were much more items this time round, I came across some really crappy taobao sellers.

So what happened exactly? I did the usual thing, buy all my items from taobao using my credit card and having Amcon’s address as the shipping address. I was quite happy actually, cos’ I got some discounts from my tmall 积分 and 淘金币. However, two sellers took very long to ship the items (books and cork board) and by then 90% of the items have already arrived in the China warehouse on 21st June. Without my knowledge, May decided to ship these items to Singapore (装柜) first, then she shipped the other batch over on 23rd June. Normally, this would not have been an issue but there were more bumps in the process this time round.

1st problem: number of boxes (箱数)
This problem is arise when I purchase more than 1 bulky item from their stall, some of them were not able to tell me how many boxes these items would arrive in. So the number of boxes Amcon received and the number of boxes I thought I should receive didn’t match up;  because some of them told me that the items (study chair and weighing scale) told me that they will ship the items in two boxes but ended up shipping it in one. How to avoid this? Keep on checking with the seller, generally if there is only one tracking number (订单号) there should only be one box.

2nd problem: seller not taking note of instructions (备注)
This problem only happened with the seller which I bought the study chairs from. There were lots of options for the study chairs I bought; you can choose the height of the back support, the type of legs and the material of the chair. With this, most sellers will cater to this my having you select them during the purchase process. This seller did not cater to this, so I had to choose some other similar option while the seller adjusted the price and put a note down. However, even after extensive communication with them, they managed to send the wrong legs to me. So after I made noise about their irresponsibility, the seller send me the correct legs free of charge. So now I had to have another batch of shipment coming in.
Furthermore, May suddenly said she receive another package at her warehouse which I have no idea came from which seller (initially I thought it is from whom I bought the cork board from). So I won’t be able to pinpoint the crappy seller until I receive the item.

3rd problem: below average service from Amcon
Somehow, May was not as prompt as the previous time. The last time I shipped my items, it arrived in Singapore in 8 days. This time round, it took 13 days. I mentioned it to May, not to offend her, but just wanted to know if it was due to a holiday or something. She was very offended and became defensive and started insisting that I told her certain things which I did not, and I have my Whatsapp to vouch for that. It was only at this point did I realize I had 3 shipments coming in – 21st June, 23rd June and the final batch in 1st July (the items arrived on 28th June, but somehow she did not ship them over immediately). This 1st July shipment will only arrive in Singapore on 13th July.

One of the reason why I chose Amcon again was because it took the shortest time to arrive in Singapore from China and also the service from May. I didn’t mind paying more (shipping is more expensive plus the $35 extra admin charge) for better service but after this round, I shall try Oops.sg for my next shipment.

Unhappiness aside, at least I got my items! My shipment was HUGE (1.3 cbm) this time round, made me think that I didn’t utilize the 1 cubic metre fully the previous time. I barricade myself from the entrance after unwrapping all my items!

I don’t have the pictures for all the items as I was too tired and excited with the unboxing process, plus I was doing it alone, but this are the significant ones.

Food slicer very useful! No more tears when slicing onions or being afraid of chopping of my own fingers. The blade is very very sharp, so the handle should be used all the time.
Knife stand it is made of bamboo (hopefully its true). Fits all our knifes well, good quality.
Magic bullet cheap alternative to the Shimono food processor that my mum has. Works just as well so far and the plug is compatible to our sockets.
Toolbox better quality than the ones in Toyogo, however you don’t have to specially buy this since Homefix also has comparable ones.
Motorised ‘unicycle’ this is for a relative, who is thinking of selling it, contact me if you are interested (item has been sold)! Very good quality and packaging but requires some practice to learn how to ride it.
Wall clock good quality and it looks great!
Toilet roll box very happy with the quality since I had a hard time finding a decent seller. Many of the other sellers had a lot of complains about quality and broken items.
Tanita weighing scale bought two of them, both arrived in original tanita packaging, Japanese words and all. It is so much cheaper and the quality is comparable.
Dining chairs love the design, but the chairs came with scratches on all the legs, indicating that their paint job is quite lousy. the seller said that I should have told them that it was meant to be shipped to Singapore so that they good package the chairs better. However, some of the scratched areas have already rusted, so I am pretty sure it was scratched a while ago and not only during the shipping process which the seller kept insisting that it was. I got a 20% discount though after I made noise.
Corkboard definitely cheaper and extremely good quality! I bought the 80 by 120cm one.
Kitchen rack no pictures for this, but the quality is really really good! Furthermore, you can shift the height of the rack. I was initially kicking myself for not buying something similar in Daiso but I gotta say that I was greatly consoled when I un-boxed this.
Study chairs no pictures yet as I am waiting for the damn legs! So far the quality seems pretty good and it was packed well too.

Check out this post for reviews of the items.

22 thoughts on “Hougang Parkview: Another Big Loot from Taobao (淘宝)!

  1. HI, for your 1.3cbm of loot from Taobao, does May charge you with 1.3 x 550 RMB? I recently placed an order of 1.23cbm with her, but she has yet to advise me on the invoice. Do you only get charged when your goods arrive in SG or?

    • Hi, yes after 1cbm it is charged by 0.1cbm, so should try to order more than 1cbm as it will be more worth it. She usually tells me how much to pay when the goods arrive in sg.

  2. Hello! I’ll be moving to Hougang Capeview soon and chanced upon your very interesting blog. Just wondering if Amcon Express is the only one you’re using or will recommend some more for shopping on Taobao? I have yet to try TB before (worried) but would really love to try.

    • Hello 🙂 you can take a look at my other taobao posts to see the other forwarders I have used and my review. I wouldn’t suggest using Amcon for a first-timer, I made numerous smaller buys from taobao with Peeka and their official forwarders before I used Amcon. But other than Amcon, I have never used other forwarders for bulky items.

  3. Hi, do you have to pay extra shipping costs for the seller to ship the products to Amcon’s address? Amcon’s address is in Guangzhou and some sellers are not located in Guangzhou, so we have to pay extra shipping costs for the seller to deliver to Amcon’s address?

    Thanks!

    • Hi Eve, I wouldn’t call it ‘extra’ shipping since the distance from Amcon address is not the only criteria in determining shipping fee. Sometimes seller have promos which cover shipping costs and some bulkier items will have shipping cost no matter how short the distance is. HTHs 🙂

      • I see… thanks! yeah, even if you include the shipping costs, it’s still cheaper than buying in Sg 😛 thanks for your prompt reply!

  4. hi there! chanced upon your blog while looking for info on taobao shipping. as you mentioned amcon/oops as forwarder for bulky items, is there any specific definitions for “bulky items” on taobao??

    • hello eric, bulky items usually means furniture or even if you are just buying a large quantity of different items. you can look at my purchases, they will give you a rough idea of what 1 cbm is. HTHs 🙂

  5. Hi, I am just wondering how one make the payment for the shipping fee for shipping the items to Amcon warehouse as I do not see any option of making that payment? Could you please advise?

  6. Thanks for your reply! So the procedure is to pay for the items via credit card and then to make the payment for the delivery charges via bank transfer?

    • items are bought directly frm taobao, there are quite a few methods of payment now so it is not restricted to credit card. anything paid to amcon will be bank transfer.

  7. Hi, I have ordered items from TB (first timer) and is using Amcon. May has advised me to submit the list to her. Am wondering, when do I submit the list to her? Do I submit all the list only after the merchant prompt shipment is delivered?

  8. Hi! I’m moving to Parkland soon and I am also thinking of getting some items from TB. I have never bought from TB before, and the Chinese wordings can be quite daunting. Do u read up the reviews of the previous buyers? Are your lightings ok besides the one u advised against? Are we subjected to any custom taxes for importing big ticket items? TIA!

    • Hi Sydney, usually I will read up to make sure that the ratings are ok. If you find it difficult to read the chinese, I suggest you purchase through an agent. It isn’t really that difficult and you can always use Google Translate to help with large paragraphs. My lights are doing well so far except for the ones I mentioned in the subsequent review post. In terms of taxes, the only one I know is above 400 dollars there will be a tax. I never ordered so much before so I can’t really help you with that.

      Regards,
      Ashley

  9. I would NOT recommend Amcon. I have been shipping items for a few years now and this is one of the WORST logistic company I have seen. My items were supposed to arrived as scheduled but I received a call from Helen that they split my shipment into 2 batches and the second batch will arrive at a later date.

    Because I needed some of the items, I had to eventually have them send the 1st batch and go down to collect PERSONALLY at their office for the second batch (imagine the heavy 1.5CBM+ items I have to fit in the car, otherwise I have to pay $~45 for their delivery again). This still cost me time and money! All these while, they would keep pushing me to either have my item delivered or collected asap.

    At their office, after tallying up my items, I realized they miss out an item. We soon realized Amcon LOST MY ITEM 0.05 CBM (heavy and large) valued at S$100+ at their Guangzhou warehouse. Helen and May would drag their replies and many times forget to follow up. They try to con me into believing my seller forgot to ship the item (very scheming) but I proved to them the emails evidence. Only then they backed down and admit their oversight with NO apology. This entire process would take 1 MONTH+ until they decided to compensate me. Until now, I’m still waiting for my compensation.

    I feel they are pretty much the typical Chinese business mindset. Trying to clear your goods from their warehouse asap so they can close your sales and make space for their warehouse. When you encounter an issue with your shipment, it’s the last thing they would attend to.

    If you EVER had to use them, I strongly recommend all communication to be in email even after they call you. This is so that in case you LOSE an item with them, you have a claim against them with C.A.S.E.

    But then again, why bother with all the trouble?

    Very Frustrating experience. I’m definitely going to try another service provider for my next shipment.

Leave a comment